A monographic museum, the Musée Rodin contains the largest collection of the sculptor’s works at two sites, in Paris, at the Hôtel Biron, and in Meudon, site of his former home, atelier, and reserve collection. Created in 1916, thanks to Auguste Rodin’s donation of his works and his collections to the French State, it opened in 1919. The artist’s international renown as the author of universally famous sculptures has contributed to the reputation of both places.
First opened to the public on 4 August 1919, the Musée Rodin was housed in a mansion, formerly called the Hôtel Peyrenc de Moras. Now known as the Hôtel Biron, it was built in the Rue de Varenne, Paris, between 1727 and 1732. Nearly 300 works from Rodin’s collection are on view in this mansion designed along the lines of classical architecture and adorned with rocaille decoration.
In recent decades, scientific research has led to the rediscovery and better understanding of many original plasters, removed from the storerooms for the occasion. Visitors will find many pieces that have never been shown before in a display that affords a more comprehensive, coherent and accessible view of Rodin’s production, showcasing works in context in a clearer way. The aim of the project is to keep Rodin’s original intention alive: offering the visitor an immersive experience in the world of his sculpture, and of sculpture in general.